Home > Development, Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 > Using WSPBuilder and SharePoint solution generator for Creating a List Instance in MOSS2007

Using WSPBuilder and SharePoint solution generator for Creating a List Instance in MOSS2007

In this post I am going to explain how we can make use of WSPBuilder for creating a List instance.
First we need to install SharePoint Solution Generator. You can download the same from here
http://download.microsoft.com/download/4/0/b/40b62080-6295-4d63-b396-d779fb9b4449/VSeWSSv12.exe
Now follow the steps for generating List Definition. Here I am going to create a List Definition of a List named “Configurations”
Start SharePoint solution generator

Select List Definition and click on Next button


Specify the Site Url where the list is present and click Next


Select the List and click Next


Provide a project name and path, then click Next

Click Finish

Before clicking Exit, click “Click here to open the generated solution” and click Exit

You can see the “Configurations” folder. Let it be opened. Now open visual studio and create a WSPBuilder project

Once the project is created, add a new blank feature

Now, copy the folder “Configurations” and paste it under the feature folder as shown below

Open the ListDefinition.xml file and copy the following content


Once the content is copied, paste it in the elements.xml file as shown below and delete the file “ListDefinition.xml” from visual studion project

You can also see ListInstance, make a similar entry in your elements.xml file. Also replace the FeatureId with the FeatureId specified in the feature.xml file
Now build the wsp, deploy it and activate the feature. This will add the list to the site.
Hope this was helpful!!!

  1. March 7, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    I would like to show my appreciation to you just for bailing me out of this particular scenario.
    As a result of scouting through the online world and obtaining techniques which are not
    helpful, I believed my entire life was gone. Being alive devoid
    of the answers to the issues you have solved all through your
    entire short article is a crucial case, as well as ones that might have adversely affected my entire career
    if I hadn’t come across your web page. Your primary understanding and kindness in playing with everything was crucial. I don’t know what I would
    have done if I hadn’t encountered such a point like this. I can at this moment look ahead to my future. Thank you so much for this expert and effective help. I will not be reluctant to endorse the sites to any person who would need counselling on this issue.

  2. March 8, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    promoting

  3. March 26, 2013 at 9:46 am

    I would like to show my thanks to you just for bailing me out of such a problem.
    Just after checking throughout the online world and seeing strategies which are not
    beneficial, I thought my life was done. Being alive
    without the answers to the problems you have fixed through your entire review is a
    crucial case, and the kind that might have negatively affected my entire career
    if I had not discovered your web site. That expertise
    and kindness in controlling every part was very helpful. I am not sure what I would have done if
    I hadn’t discovered such a stuff like this. I’m able to now look forward to my
    future. Thanks a lot so much for the skilled and sensible help.

    I won’t think twice to suggest the website to any person who ought to have care on this area.

  4. April 17, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    Good information. Lucky me I recently found your blog by chance
    (stumbleupon). I have saved it for later!

  5. June 5, 2013 at 12:23 am

    Hello, just wanted to tell you, I enjoyed
    this post. It was helpful. Keep on posting!

  6. June 6, 2013 at 3:15 am

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective.

    A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance. I must say you have done a great job with this. Also, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Firefox. Exceptional Blog!

  7. July 11, 2013 at 8:37 pm

    It’s going to be finish of mine day, but before end I am reading this wonderful piece of writing to increase my knowledge.

  8. July 11, 2013 at 8:44 pm

    Fastidious respond in return of this matter with genuine arguments and telling all regarding that.

  9. July 15, 2013 at 4:26 am

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  10. July 29, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    Great site you have got here.. It’s hard to find good quality writing like yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  11. August 6, 2013 at 5:27 am

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.

    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  12. January 30, 2014 at 10:32 am

    You’re so interesting! I do not think I have read through anything like this before.
    So great to discover another person with genuine thoughts on
    this issue. Really.. thanks for starting this up. This site is
    one thing that is required on the internet, someone with some originality!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

